Freeride Day Mölltaler Gletscher

Freeriding at Mölltaler Gletscher (glacier) with all difficulty levels in a high alpine atmosphere at 3.100 m sea level. And – at good conditions – one of the longest freeriding downhills in Austria as a highlight
Your freeriding day at Mölltaler Gletscher (glacier) will be customized to your wishes: There are so many possibilities in the area that all difficulty and mood levels can be fulfilled. During the first downhill we’ll check your skiing skills. Then we’ll either choose a more relaxing option nearby the skiing slopes or, with the right conditions, explore the extraordinary downhill all the way down to Sportgastein. The Mölltaler Gletscher is definately also something for freeriding beginners – solid skiing skills on the slopes presupposed. If you want to improve your offpiste skiing technique first, you can do this here. In case you are interested in freetouring with ascents up to an hour, then please let us know when making your booking. The area offers some great, relatively demanding options. However, due to the high alpine terrain you should have some previous experience with skitouring.

Meeting point is at 8:45 a.m. at the valley station of the skiing area Mölltaler Gletscher next to the big panorama board opposite of the ticket office. In case someone wants to sleep in or be the first one on the slopes (we know: „no friends on powder days“): just ask us regarding a different meeting time!

We choose the freeriding downhills individually, thereby completely taking into consideration your skills, wishes and the latest weather and snow conditions. All this we check on our first 600m long downhill from the summit station down to bottom of the glacier. If the conditions are good and you are up to it, we can do our highlight downhill of 1.500 height meter in the afternoon. We start at the summit of Schareck (3.121m) and freeride all the way down to Sportgastein – this is one of the longest freeriding downhills in Austria and an impressive high alpine skiiing terrain far away from the skiiing slopes (we’ll get back to the skiing area by train and bus).

Our freeriding day finishes at approximately 3:30 p.m. (if we ski down to Sportgastein a bit later)

 

 

For the Freeride Day Mölltaler Gletscher a secure skiing technique for offpiste downhills with steep slopes up to 35 degrees is a must. If you wish and the conditions allow, it is also possible to go for scarps up to 40 degrees (or even steeper). Also for the standard downhills you should have enough fitness for skiing in the terrain for a minimum of 30 minutes per freeriding downhill. In case you’d like to improve your skiing technique or check your fitness/skills, check out our Freeride Training Program!

Fixed day Freeride Mölltaler Gletscher every Thursday:

99€ pP (minimum of 3 persons)

Individual booking:

1 day Freeride Mölltaler Gletscher starts at 85€ guiding fee.

1 Person: 360€ // 2 Person: 190€ pP // 3 Person: 140€ pP // 4 Person: 115€ pP // 5 Person: 95€ pP // 6 Person: 85€ pP

Skiing equipment: for the Freeride Day Mölltaler Gletscher we recommend an allmountain ski up to a Fat Boy (>100m width), depending on the conditions. Freeriding ski can be provided by us if needed! Ski with an ascent function are not necessary for the standard route. With your booking confirmation you’ll get a short information on the weather and snow conditions, so that you can choose the right ski. You can borrow all the equipment with us.

Security equipment: Modern ski helmet and modern avalanche equipment (beacon, probe & shovel) have to be carried with you at all times. An avalanche backpack is optional. The avalanche equipment (excl. airbag) can be provided by us for free.

Included in the price are:

  • Guided tour with a state approved mountain and skiing guide (all expenses of the guide included)
  • Avalanche equipment (beacon, probe & shovel by Pieps)
  • Dynastar freeride ski (Cham 2.0 97) can be rented for 20€ per day

Not included are:

  • Skipass
  • Possible transport costs (train ticket, shuttle etc.)
  • Lunch
In case you have questions regarding the program, just give us a call or write us an email using the below contact form:

Your Name (required)

Your Email (required)

Subject

Your Message

[recaptcha]

By using this form you agree with the storage and handling of your data by this website.

Any Questions?

+43-677-61162620 or via mail: info(at)freeride-hohetauern.at

 

“Freeriding at Mölltaler Gletscher is especially with good weather a real highlight: The amazing landscape in the middle of the Hohe Tauern National Park, the view onto the Großglockner (Austria’s highest mountain) and several other mountains combined with a great spectrum from easy, but generous downhills to impressive steep downhills. And this all in a tree free high alpine area on heights between 3.121 and 1.600m above sea level.
 
Especially impressive with the right conditions are definately the 1.500m long downhills from the peak of Schareck (3.121m) to Sportgastein. These count to the longest freeride downhills in Austria – no matter if you take the relatively sophisticated “normal downhill” or with perfect conditions go for the extreme downhills taking the Eastern or Northern side.”

Freeride Tag Mölltaler Gletscher

Freeriden am Mölltaler Gletscher in allen Schwierigkeitsgraden in hochalpinem Ambiente auf 3.100 m Seehöhe. Und - wenn alles passt - als Highlight eine der ganz großen Freerideabfahrten Österreichs.

Dein Freeride Tag am Mölltaler Gletscher wird ganz nach Deinen Wünschen gestaltet: es gibt hier so viele Möglichkeiten, dass für jedes Könnens- und Launelevel etwas gefunden werden kann. Bei den ersten Abfahrten werden wir beides gemeinsam checken. Dann werden wir entweder entspannt die großzügigen Möglichkeiten im näheren Bereich rund um das Skigebiet erkunden oder aber bei passenden Verhältnissen die großartige Abfahrt nach Sportgastein genießen. Der Mölltaler Gletscher eignet sich – solides Skikönnen auf Pisten vorausgesetzt – definitiv auch für Freeride-Anfänger. Wenn Du vorher Deine Offpiste-Skitechnik verbessern willst, kannst Du es hier tun. Solltest Du am Freetouring interessiert sein mit Aufstiegen bis zu einer Stunde – das Gebiet bietet einige tolle recht anspruchsvolle Möglichkeiten dafür – dann bitten wir Dich um eine diesbezügliche Nachricht bei der Buchung. Hierfür solltest Du aufgrund des hochalpinen Geländes jedoch schon eine gewisse Erfahrung im Skitourengehen mitbringen.

Treffpunkt um 8:45 Uhr an der Talstation des Skigebietes Mölltaler Gletscher bei der großen Panoramatafel gegenüber der Kasse. Wenn jemand ausschlafen oder wirklich die erste Bahn erwischen will (wir wissen: “no friends on powder days”): fragt einfach bzgl. einer anderen Uhrzeit an!

Wir wählen die Freeride-Abfahrten ganz nach Eurem Können, Euren Wünschen und den aktuellen Verhältnissen individuell aus. Dies stellen wir gleich einmal auf dem tollen 600 Hm langen Run  von der Gipfelstation hinab in den Gletscherboden fest. Wenn Verhältnisse passen und Ihr Lust dazu habt, können wir als Highlight am Nachmittag die 1.500 Hm lange Abfahrt vom Gipfel des Schareck (3.121m) hinab nach Sportgastein unternehmen – eine der längsten Freeride-Abfahrten Österreichs und ganz großartiges hochalpines Skigelände weit weg vom Pistenrummel (zurück geht es dann mit Bahn und Bus zum Auto).

Ende etwa 15:30 Uhr (bei Abfahrt nach Sportgastein etwas später)

 

 

Für den Freeride Tag Mölltaler Gletscher ist eine sichere Skitechnik für Geländeabfahrten bis zu 35 Grad steiler Hänge notwendig. Nach Wunsch und Verhältnissen können auch Abfahrten bis zu 40 Grad Steilheit (oder auch darüber) gewählt werden. Du solltest auch für die Standardabfahrten ausreichend Kondition für Geländefahrten von mindestens 30min pro Freerideabfahrt haben. Wenn Du deine Skitechnik verbessern oder deine Kondition u/o Fähigkeiten testen willst, check unser Freeride Training Programm.

Fixtag Freeride Mölltaler Gletscher jeden Donnerstag:

99€ pP (Mindestteilnehmerzahl 3)

Individueller Termin:

1 Tag Freeride Mölltaler Gletscher beginnt bei 75€ Führungsgebühr.

1 Person: 360€ // 2 Personen: 190€ pP // 3 Personen: 140€ pP // 4 Personen: 115€ pP // 5 Personen: 95€ pP // 6 Personen: 85€ pP

Skiausrüstung: für den Freeride Tag am Mölltaler Gletscher empfehlen wir einen Allmountain Ski bis hin zu einem Fat Boy (>100mm Breite), je nach Verhältnissen. Freeride Ski können bei uns mit gebucht werden! Ski mit Aufstiegsfunktion sind für die Standard Route nicht notwendig. Bei Buchungseingang erhälst Du gleichzeitig mit der Buchungsbestätigung eine kurze Info über die Verhältnisse, damit Du den richtigen Ski auswählen kannst. Du kannst das ganze Equipment aber auch direkt bei uns ausleihen! Sicherheitsausrüstung: moderner Skihelm, modernes LVS-Gerät, Sonde und Schaufel müssen während der gesamten Tour mitgeführt werden. Ein Lawinenrucksack kann optional mitgenommen werden. Die LVS-Ausrüstung (exkl. Airbag) kannst Du gratis bei uns ausborgen!

Im Preis inkludiert sind:

  • Führung durch staatlich geprüften Berg- und Skiführer (inklusive aller Spesen des Bergführers)
  • LVS-Ausrüstung (LVS-Gerät, Sonde und Schaufel von der Firma Pieps)
  • Freeride-Ski von Dynastar (Cham 2.0 97) können gegen eine Gebühr von 20 € ausgeliehen werden.

Nicht inkludiert sind:

  • Skiticket
  • ggf. Transportkosten (Bahnticket Tauernschleuse, ggf. Shuttle Mallnitz – Talstation Mölltaler Gletscher)
  • Mittagessen

Falls Du Fragen zum Progamm hast, dann ruf uns einfach an oder schreib uns ein E-Mail mit dem folgenden Kontaktformular:

Your Name (required)

E-Mail-Adress

Subject

Your Message

[recaptcha]

By using this form you agree with the storage and handling of your data by this website.

Noch Fragen?

+43-677-61162620 oder per mail: info(at)freeride-hohetauern.at

 

“Freeriden am Mölltaler Gletscher ist vor allem bei schönem Wetter großes Kino: Landschaftlich atemberaubend mitten im Nationalpark Hohe Tauern mit Blick auf Großglockner, Hochalmspitze und wie sie alle heißen bietet das Gebiet vom Freeride-Gelände ein großes Spektrum von einfachen aber großzügigen Abfahrten im Bereich der Pisten bis zu rassigen Steilabfahrten sehr viel. Und alles in baumfreiem hochalpinem Gebiet zwischen 3.121 und 1.600m Seehöhe.
Highlight sind bei passenden Verhältnissen sicher die hochalpinen 1.500m langen Abfahrten vom Gipfel des Schareck (3.121m) nach Sportgastein. Diese zählen zu den großen Freeride-Abfahrten in Österreich – egal ob die auch schon relativ anspruchsvolle “Normalabfahrt” oder bei idealen Verhältnissen eine der Extremabfahrten durch direkte Ostflanke oder Nordwand gewählt wird.”