Freeride Safari

Mölltaler Gletscher - Sportgastein - Ankogel. 3 Areas. 1 Day. The best downhills. We connect it.
In one day we connect the best downhills of the 3 skiing areas Mölltaler Gletscher (glacier), Sportgastein and Ankogel – in sum we’re talking about over 4.500 height meters of freeriding downhills! In accordance to the weather and snow conditions we show you the best downhills of the three areas. It’s also possible to combine individual downhills of your preference. If you are not sure which downhills can be combined, just give us a call or write us and we’ll find the perfect runs for you together!
Meeting point is at 8:20 a.m. at the valley station of the skiing area Mölltaler Gletscher next to the big panorama board opposite of the ticket office. From the summit station of Mölltaler Gletscher we start our first 600 height meters long downhill as a warm-up, before we freeride 1.500 height meters all the way down the Schareck Eastern hillside to the valley station of the skiing area Sportgastein – this is said to be one of the longest freeriding downhills in Austria. From there we take the skilift up to the summit at Kreuzkogel and from there we take the 1.500 height meters long Northern downhill down to the street of Sportgastein – Böckstein. We hop on a bus to the train station of Böckstein and from there we get to the skiing area Ankogel. Here we start our last big downhill of the day: We reach the starting point of our freeride through a 15 minute ascent by foot. From there we swing down to the valley through the powder. To get to starting point we take the train another time.
For the Freeride Safari a solide skiing technique for offpiste downhills with steep slopes up to 35 degrees is a must. If you wish and the conditions allow, it is also possible to go for scarps up to 40 degrees (or even steeper). Also for the standard downhills you should have enough fitness for skiing in the terrain for a minimum of 30 minutes per freeriding downhill. In case you’d like to improve your skiing technique or check your fitness/skills, check out our Freeride Training Program.

 

1 day Freeride Safari starts at 85€ guiding fee.

1 Person: 380€ // 2 Person: 190€ pP // 3 Person: 140€ pP // 4 Person: 115€ pP // 5 Person: 95€ pP // 6 Person: 85€ pP

Skiing equipment: for the Freeride Day Mölltaler Gletscher we recommend an allmountain ski up to a Fat Boy (>100m width), depending on the conditions. Freeriding ski can be provided by us if needed! Ski with an ascent function are not necessary fort he standard route. With your booking confirmation you’ll get a short information on the weather and snow conditions, so that you can choose the right ski. You can borrow all the equipment with us.

Security equipment: Modern ski helmet and modern avalanche equipment (beacon, probe & shovel)  have to be carried with you at all times. An avalanche backpack is optional. The avalanche equipment (excl. airbag) can be provided by us for free.

Included in the price are:

  • Guided tour with a state approved mountain and skiing guide (all expenses of the guide included)
  • Avalanche equipment (beacon, probe & shovel by Pieps)
  • Dynastar freeride ski (Cham 2.0 97) can be rented for 20€ per day

Not included are:

  • Skipass
  • Possible transport costs (train ticket, shuttle etc.)
  • Lunch
In case you have questions regarding the program, just give us a call or write us an email using the below contact form:

Your Name (required)

Your Email (required)

Subject

Your Message

[recaptcha]

By using this form you agree with the storage and handling of your data by this website.

Any questions?

+43-677-61162620 or via mail: info(at)freeride-hohetauern.at

 

“The Freeride Safari is our figurehead: With good weather the crossing of the Eastern Hohe Tauern is simply breathtaking! It combines great high alpine downhills in a unique way with fantastic scenic impressions; thereby we’re far away from the hurly-burly of the skiing slopes.”

Freeride Safari

Mölltaler Gletscher - Sportgastein - Ankogel. 3 Areas. 1 Day. The best downhills. We connect it.
In einem Tag verbinden wir die besten Abfahrten der 3 Skigebiete Mölltaler Gletscher, Sportgastein und Ankogel mit einer Summe von über 4500 Höhenmetern Freeride Abfahrt. Wir zeigen Euch in Abhängigkeit der Verhältnisse die besten Freerideabfahrten der drei Gebiete. Es ist auch möglich, individuelle gewünschte Abfahrten zusammen zu hängen. Wenn Du Dir nicht sicher bist, welche Abfahrten kombinierbar sind, ruf uns einfach an oder schreib uns, gemeinsam finden wir die besten Runs für Dich!
Treffpunkt um 8:20 Uhr an der Talstation des Skigebietes Mölltaler Gletscher bei der großen Panoramatafel gegenüber der Kasse. Es bietet sich an, den Skibus von Obervellach über Außerfragant zu nehmen (Start um 7:45 Uhr in Obervellach, Fahrplan siehe hier). Auffahrt Bergstation Mölltaler Gletscher. Nach einem 600 Höhenmeter langen Run zum Einfahren fahren wir die berühmte 1.500 Hm lange Schareck-Ostabfahrt – von manchen als der längste Freeride-Run Österreichs bezeichnet – direkt bis zur Talstation des Skigebiets Sportgastein. Nach einer Auffahrt bis zur Gipfelstation am Kreuzkogel starten wir die Nordabfahrt 1.500 Hm hinab bis zur Straße Sportgastein – Böckstein. Kurze Busfahrt bis zum Bahnhof Böckstein, mit der Bahn durch die Tauernschleuse und zur Talstation des Skigebiets Ankogel. Hier starten wir zur letzten großen Abfahrt des Tages: den Ausgangspunkt erreichen wir mit einem 15-minütigen Fußaufstieg, bevor wir im schattigen Knallkar unsere Schwünge Richtung Anlauftal ziehen – oft genug durch staubenden Pulverschnee. Zufrieden fahren wir am späten Nachmittag noch einmal durch die Tauernschleuse nach Mallnitz und weiter zu unserem Ausgangspunkt.    
Für die Freeridesafari ist eine sichere Skitechnik für Geländeabfahrten bis zu 35 Grad steile Hänge notwendig. Nach Wunsch und Verhältnissen können auch Abfahrten bis zu 40 Grad Steilheit gewählt werden. Du solltest bei beiden ausreichend Kondition für Geländefahrten von mindestens 30min pro Freerideabfahrt haben. Wenn Du deine Skitechnik verbessern oder deine Kondition u/o Fähigkeiten testen willst, check unser Freeride Training Programm.

1 Tag Freeride Safari beginnt bei 85€ Führungsgebühr. 1 Person: 380€ // 2 Personen: 190€ pP // 3 Personen: 140€ pP // 4 Personen: 115€ pP // 5 Personen: 95€ pP // 6 Personen: 85€ pP

Skiausrüstung: für die Standard Safari Route empfehlen wir einen Allmountain Ski bis hin zu einem Fat Boy (>100mm Breite), je nach Verhältnissen. Freeride Ski können bei uns mit gebucht werden! Ski mit Aufstiegsfunktion sind für die Standard Route nicht notwendig. Bei Buchungseingang erhälst Du gleichzeitig mit der Buchungsbestätigung eine kurze Info über die Verhältnisse, damit Du den richtigen Ski auswählen kannst. Du kannst das ganze Equipment aber auch direkt bei uns ausleihen! Sicherheitsausrüstung: moderner Skihelm, modernes LVS-Gerät, Sonde und Schaufel müssen während der gesamten Tour mitgeführt werden. Ein Lawinenrucksack kann optional mitgenommen werden. Die LVS-Ausrüstung (exkl. Airbag) kannst Du gratis bei uns ausborgen!

Im Preis inkludiert sind:

  • Führung durch staatlich geprüften Berg- und Skiführer (inklusive aller Spesen des Bergführers)
  • LVS-Ausrüstung (LVS-Gerät, Sonde und Schaufel von der Firma Pieps)
  • Freeride-Ski von Dynastar (Cham 2.0 97) können gegen eine Gebühr von 20 € ausgeliehen werden.

Nicht inkludiert sind:

  • Skiticket
  • Transportkosten (Bahnticket Tauernschleuse, ggf. Shuttle Mallnitz – Talstation Mölltaler Gletscher)
  • Mittagessen

Falls Du Fragen zum Progamm hast, dann ruf uns einfach an oder schreib uns ein E-Mail mit dem folgenden Kontaktformular:

Your Name (required)

E-Mail-Adress

Subject

Your Message

[recaptcha]

By using this form you agree with the storage and handling of your data by this website.

Noch Fragen?

+43-677-61162620 oder per mail: info(at)freeride-hohetauern.at

“Die Freeride Safari ist unser Aushängeschild: bei gutem Wetter ist diese Durchquerung der östlichen Hohen Tauern atemberaubend: sie kombiniert große hochalpine Abfahrten in einzigartiger Weise mit fantastischen landschaftlichen Eindrücken; dabei sind wir auf den Abfahrten immer weit weg vom Skigebietstrubel.”